For many years, the only option for people with dairy allergies was a dairy-free casein protein. But in more recent years, some dairy companies have begun producing a casein alternative. This is usually marked as a “soy” alternative on the can or bottle, but in fact is not dairy free casein at all. In fact, it is soy (but not cow’s milk) protein. People with dairy allergies are still able to find quality protein on the market if they look for it. That is because some manufacturers have realized that there is a large market for non-dairy proteins.
The biggest challenge for those with allergies is finding a product that has the right amount of protein for their type of allergy. For example, those with lactose allergies need much higher levels of casein protein than those with an allergy to egg or animal protein. There are a number of manufacturers who have developed products specifically to meet the needs of those with dietary restrictions. They provide protein that is a good match to the digestive system and is usually easier on the stomach and digestive track than casein.
If you are considering a new protein supplement, or switching from other types of protein, you should ask your doctor first. Not everyone has the same reactions to dairy-free casein protein. It is also important to remember that each individual is different and some people may be sensitive to a specific brand of protein. It is also important to ask your personal health care provider what type of protein would be appropriate for you based on your specific symptoms. While some people are able to tolerate casein, others cannot. There are a number of reasons why some individuals react negatively to dairy products.
Many people find that dairy free casein protein is very digestible. This makes it a great option if you are watching your weight or want to stay within a certain range of your daily nutrition. Casein protein tends to give off the feeling of being full rather quickly, so you will not get hungry as often. If you find that you have frequent stomach upsets or heartburn after eating dairy products, then this type of protein might be just the solution you need. Some people find that they do not get as full as they once did, while others say that they still feel full when consuming dairy free casein protein.
There is some evidence that dairy free casein protein can help in the treatment of some ailments such as asthma, eczema, and diarrhea. Because of the way casein is made, it is possible that some people who have lactose intolerance with this product find that their symptoms lessen. It is also believed that cases of asthma in children may be reduced after introducing this type of protein into their diets. One study that looked at this was performed in Finland where children were examined as well as adults.
Overall, dairy free casein protein may be right for you. You may want to give it a try, or you may not. Either way, remember that you never want to substitute another type of milk for it. Also, remember that some children with milk allergies may have adverse reactions to dairy-free casein protein as well. Before adding this type of milk to your diet, you should discuss this fact with your doctor.