Ghee, the liquid found in cows’ milk, has been touted as a weight loss supplement for centuries. Its claimed benefits include: promoting digestion, increasing metabolic rate and speeding up body protein synthesis. However, what is Ghee exactly? Why does it have casein in it? How to use it and why does it taste so yummy? Ghee or whey is just one of many questions related to this ever popular supplement.
Ghee can be derived from either the milk solids or from the clarified fats. The clarified fats are extracted from meat and dairy products using traditional methods, while the milk solids are obtained by simple process of filtering the solids to make ghee. If you are looking to make ghee on your own, then you will need to know how to refine it.
Ghee can be successfully used as a diet supplement if you are following a lactose-free diet. You can also effectively use ghee as an alternative to regular milk solids when you are following a lactose-reduction diet. For those still wondering, does ghee contain lactose at all? Yes, it contains lactose, which is the sugar present in milk. If you choose to use this as your only source of energy, then you are likely eating too much of milk in your diet.
To effectively use ghee as a supplement, you will need to use it straight from the bottle. Most of the supplements that are available are pre-filled, with just the right amount of the clarified and sweetened fluid to use. Look for the brand that has the most natural flavors like vanilla, lemon, or honey. The flavors will vary depending on the brand. Those with an overwhelming sweet taste may prefer to look for a different brand or choose one that uses milk solids instead of vegetable oil.
When buying ghee or buying a ready-made product, look for one with a higher percentage of clarified milk solids, such as whey. It is also important to check the label to see what percentage of the milk solids are whey, as this makes a big difference. If you are looking for a really simple snack, then ghee that tastes like almond or soy milk may be just what you are looking for. There is nothing better than taking a spoon of ghee, sliding it between your fingers and biting into a nice warm piece of chocolate. If you are concerned about the fat content, then use a low-fat version of the product.
Another question you might ask yourself is how is ghee different from soy milk? This answer is simple. Ghee is more natural, and it contains less fat than most other vegetable oils, including casein. This makes it ideal for people on low or no-nutritional diets, or those who are lactose intolerant. It is also great for people who don’t want to add extra fat and calories to their diet, as well as those who want to avoid the chemicals that are sometimes added to commercial dairy products. If you decide to make your own ghee, be sure and use high-quality raw materials and make sure to store your homemade ghee in a clean, dry place, and always read the label on the product to know exactly what the ingredients are.